Writing 101 Day 18

mypicIt’s Japan, actually. But, I’ll give credit to all three countries that show as having an influence on my life. When I was a teenager, I took a huge interest in Asian culture. I don’t remember the reasons why. I think I like how Asians look. I think I even wanted to be Asian for a long period of time. I started taking Hapkido, when I was a high school student.

But it wasn’t the Koreans who made a big impact on my life. It was the Japanese. i started studying Japanese when I was in high school as well. I don’t remember why I started studying it, but I did. I became really good at it. I got the opportunity to live there for about a year, and I become really good. I took Karate classes in Japan. I learned how to use chopsticks really well there. I got used to Japanese food and really grew to love it.

Then I flew back to the states. I kept up with Japanese culture here in the US. I continued to study the language. Eventually I took an interest in Buddhism. That’s where I met Katsumi.

I didn’t think she was beautiful, on sight. I had no interest at all, really. She was pretty, though, and considered to be a fresh off the plane girl from Japan.  For some reason, the people at her temple thought that since we lived so close to each other, it would be great if she can help me learn about Buddhism. She did. We started out that way, at least.

Can you see where this is going? It’s obvious we will fall in love or that sort of thing, right? If you’re thinking that, you’re right. We did. It’s a beautiful way to meet someone. It’s very innocent. We grew on each other through time. We fell madly in love.

The problem is…she was married and had a child already. The five year affair I had with her impacted my life more than anything.

5 thoughts on “Writing 101 Day 18

  1. It’s a beautiful post. Maybe you had an incarnation in Japan before? I also learned Karate when I was young, briefly. I created martial arts mini clubs in my neighborhood and school which were fun and lasted for a while!
    Where were you born, if I may ask?
    I hope Katsumi is living in bliss 🙂
    I don’t know what Hapkido is, could you please tell me?
    I wish you very best. Have a nice day!
    Love and light ❤
    Anand 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

