Writing 101 Day 15

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.”

— Marcus Tullius Cicero

A room without books is like a body without soul. That’s how I feel. Books have information. If you have ever seen a Tai Lopez ad, he’s right. I have heard this time and time again. My dream has always been to get rich. Every time I have listened to a person who teaches topics related to that subject, they’ve always said that it is important to read. I want to steer off topic, just a little bit, and say that a lot of those people never said what to read. They said “just read.” So when I tried to follow their advice, I read a lot of fiction books. I didn’t understand. I just assumed that by reading anything in general, my brain would go stronger and I would get smarter and figure it all out. I was totally wrong. They meant to say that it’s important to read a lot of self-help books–books that have strategies, you know? Think “The Psychology of Self Esteem,” “How To Win Friends and Influence People”–boks like that. Since I have been reading books like that, my life has improved so much. Now I just love them. My mood is different. I lost 50 pounds because I read about how to. I drink more tea and use more spices. I meditate. I invest. I’m learning a lot of things. Books have information. They are tools. That quote is very powerful.

2 thoughts on “Writing 101 Day 15

  1. I do have to say that I think a variety of books is what improves us, including the fiction books. Fiction develops our creativity and the dreamer in us which is what drives us to have big goals anyway. Don’t you think?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

