Writing 101 Day 7

Everything starts with a thought. Be careful what you think about.

–Jim Rohn

I browsed one of my home notebooks for a quote. I’ve heard a lot of quotes in my life, and I’ve even heard this quote a few times before from other people, but Jim Rohn is the last person I heard it from. I am very much interested in self development and self improvement. I was interested in it about ten years ago, but it was because I was religious, so I always read books about Buddhism. Now, I just want to be healthy and wealthy. I want to be happy. Since I’ve recently starting reading in self development topics, again it has changed my life dramatically.

I am not an expert on this, but I think “positive thinking” is a very misunderstood topic. I don’t think the people who flag ship this topic believe that the key to a good life is to just sit there and think positive thoughts all day and expect a change. Critics do not interpret it in that way. They say you have to take action. I’m 100% sure that the people who write about these things know that you have to take action. Perhaps a lot of them expect you to know without saying. Napoleon Hill specifically said to think positive thoughts and then act.

Everything starts with a thought. Be careful what you think about. I really believe you become what you think about all day long. The actions that are required for you to take are ones that you do without thinking about it when you do them. It’s a natural occurrence because you think about things and you have those goals. If you think negatively all the time, an accumulation of things happen to you in that effect. When you think negatively all the time, you’re constantly stressed, unhappy about something, depleting yourself of energy, etc. Those things lead to failing.

That’s my interpretation of the quote. It doesn’t mean to pray and sit.

2 thoughts on “Writing 101 Day 7

Leave a Reply

